top of page
  • Writer's pictureFCRHA

FCRHA Re-elects Chairman and Elects New Vice-Chairman

The Fairfax County Redevelopment and Housing Authority (FCRHA) re-elected Robert Schwaninger, Mason District, as chairman and elected C. Melissa Jonas, Dranesville District, as vice-chairman at its meeting on Thursday, July 20, 2017.

Commissioner Schwaninger was appointed to the FCRHA in 2006. Mr. Schwaninger, an attorney, has been practicing before the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) since 1982, and began his own firm in 1986. Since that time, he has represented hundreds of businesses, licensees, tower owners, and persons before the FCC, the U.S. Court of Appeals, and various federal agencies and offices. Commissioner Schwaninger became involved in community activities in 2001 when he joined with his neighbors to participate informally in local land use issues.  In 2005, he became chairman of the Mason District Area Plan task force, guiding the task force to provide a forum for citizens to offer all levels of input related to future land development throughout the district. Commissioner Schwaninger has been Chairman of the FCRHA since July 2014.

Commissioner Jonas was appointed to the FCRHA in 2013.  Ms. Jonas is a fifteen-year resident of Herndon and currently serves as the Chair of the town's Planning Commission and previously served on the Herndon Town Council.  She was also appointed by Fairfax County Supervisor John Foust to help on the Dranesville District Area Plans Review Task Force, a group that reviewed the proposed development surrounding the Route 28 Metro Site and its future impact on the town.  Ms. Jonas worked for 15 years in housing research and consulting and currently works with large companies to optimize their business processes and outcomes utilizing solutions developed by Apttus.

1 view0 comments


bottom of page